Monday, August 21, 2017

Monochrome mania


Getting to work, in Girgaon.

To view classic monochromes from around the world please click here

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Inside Outside


People waiting outside the gates of the Khatu Ganesha workshop, Parel, to get a glimpse of the huge Ganesha idols being rolled out to the Pandals in different parts of the city.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Twilight


The evening sky in Bandra east yesterday.

For more Skywatch pictures around the world click here

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Dahi Handi

Dahi Handi is a festive event and a team sport during the Hindu festival of Gokulashtami, which is also known as Krishna Janmashtami in celebration of the birth of Krishna.
It is celebrated the day after Krishna Janmashtami and it involves communities hanging an earthen pot filled with dahi (yoghurt) at a convenient height for teams of young boys/girls to make a human pyramid and attempt to reach or break the pot. As they do so, spectators sing and cheer them on. It is an event with media attendance, prize money and commercial sponsorships.
A participant in this festival is called a Govinda and it is very popular in the state of Maharashtra, especially in the city of Mumbai.
It was celebrated yesterday in Mumbai with great fervour as you can see in the pictures below.


The Captain gauging the height for number of tiers in pyramid to be formed.


The 2nd tier


The 3rd tier


The 4th tier


The 5th and final bursts the pot


And they all come down!

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Street Barber

INDIA IS 70 YEARS OLD TODAY



Shave on the pavement in Parel.

To view images from around the world or to participate in this fabulous meme please click here and here

Monday, August 14, 2017

Monochrome mania


Ganesha idol being readied in one of the largest workshops in Parel, for the oncoming festival starting on 25Aug.

To view classic monochromes from around the world please click here

Friday, August 11, 2017

Thursday, August 10, 2017

On a wing and a prayer


The crow hung on a wing and a prayer. His prayers were answered as the Mumbai Fire Department boys vroomed in to rescue him. They got him off the tree and took him to the Veterinary Hospital for treatment. 

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Sales pitch


The street entrepreneur, at the flea market in Kumbharwada, making her sales pitch for her wares while the guy sitting behind lets out a yawn.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Jama Masjid


The Jama Masjid in Bandra.

To view images from around the world or to participate in this fabulous meme please click here and here

Monday, August 7, 2017

Monochrome mania


Propped up balconies in a building in Girgaon.

To view classic monochromes from around the world please click here

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Friday, August 4, 2017

Bird in flight


A lone bird enjoying the dark sky in Bandra east.

For more Skywatch pictures around the world click here

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Well grounded


A street side shop at ground level in Girgaon.

To view images from around the world or to participate in this fabulous meme please click here and here